The Four Noble Truths

The First Noble Truth
Dukkha: The Truth of Suffering

*All life is suffering.
*Birth, aging, sickness, and death are painful.
*Enduring what you hate, separation from what you love, and cravings which are not satisfied are all equally painful.
*Any condition which springs from attachment is painful, is suffering.

The Second Noble Truth
Samudhaya: The Truth of the Origin of Suffering

*Suffering is rooted in Tanha--thirst, desire, craving.
*Gama Tanha--desire for sensual gratification.
*Bhava Tanha--desire to exist.
*Vibhava Tanha--desire to not exist.

The Third Noble Truth
Nirodha: The Truth of the Cessation of Suffering

*Suffering will cease when craving ceases.
*Let go of desire for anything whatsoever, whether it be food, wealth, fame, companionship, or sensual attachment.
*The objects of desire are not at issue, it is the function of craving that must be eradicated.
*It is not a question of getting and keeping, but of giving and letting go - not a grasping fist, but an open hand.
The Fourth Noble Truth
Magga: The Path which Leads to the Cessation of Suffering
*Having diagnosed the disease, the Great Physician now prescribes the course of treatment. This is the Noble Eightfold Path, the Middle Way; avoidance of the extremes of self-indulgence and self-mortification.